Thursday, May 30, 2024

818 East Jefferson Boulevard
South Bend, IN 46617
AARC: (574) 234-6024
MEAP: (574) 287-1879
Hours & Directions


The Alcohol & Addictions Resource Center celebrated its 57th anniversary with an awards luncheon held at the Hilton Garden Inn on October 30, 2019. Approximately 155 people attended the luncheon.

The Robert J. Firth Award was presented to the Junior League of South Bend in recognition for their role in bringing the Alcoholism Council to life in 1962. The award is named in honor of the late Bob Firth, who was an active volunteer at AARC as a Board Member and served a four year term as Board President. The award was presented by Bob’s son, John.

The Joseph E. Hickey award was given to Indiana Carton Company for its long standing commitment to AARC and the community. The award is named in honor of the late Joe Hickey. Joe was an active member of AARC’s Board of Directors and played a key role in AARC’s offering specialized services to business and industry by the Michiana Employee Assistance Program.

The Michiana Employee Assistance Program, a program of AARC, was highlighted at the luncheon as having their 45th anniversary. MEAP was the first employee assistance program in St. Joseph County, having begun in 1974 and is still assisting employees with personal or work-related concerns.

83400150070 commerceproduct 7182 61 6183400150070 commerceproduct 7182 261 26183400150070 commerceproduct 7188 2 283400150070 commerceproduct 7188 3 3

Premier Sponsor - Arthur J. Decio

Gold Sponsor - Indiana Carton Company

Silver Sponsor
  • John and Ann Firth
  • Mossberg & Company, Inc.
  • University of Notre Dame
Bronze Sponsor
  • Anonymous
  • Indiana Trust Wealth Management
  • Pfeifer Morgan & Stesiak
  • Saint Joseph Health System
Inspiration Table
  • AM General LLC
  • Foley & Small LLP
  • Gurley Leep Automotive Family
  • John Farron
  • McDonald Physical Therapy
  • Mike and Barb Williams
  • Steve and Connie McTigue
  • Tire Rack
Gold Patron
  • Dr. Walter H. Halloran
  • Imagineering Finishing Technologies
  • Linda Rakow in memory of Rex Rakow
  • Mary Jane Stanley in memory of Bill Stanley
  • Quality Dining, Inc.
Silver Patron
  • Anderson, Agostino & Keller, P.C.
  • Bishop and Mrs. Frank Gray
  • Jack and Renee Gordon
  • Jeff and Ann Kimmell
  • John and Jay Whitmer Frizzo
  • Kent and Dianne Laudeman
  • Mike and Alberta Barnes
Bronze Patron
  • Bob and Jane Miller
  • MutualBank
  • Roland and Angie Chamblee
  • Spike and Carol Abernethy
  • Susan and Jim Van Fleit
  • Tuesley Hall Konopa, LLP
Friends of AARC
  • Ann and Fred Dean
  • Baird, Thomas W. Olson CFP
  • Big Idea Company, LLC
  • Brian and Ginger Lake
  • Eileen and Tom Hughes
  • F. Geoffrey Samora, LCSW
  • Mrs. Janette Burkhart-Miller
  • John W. Rosenthal Capital Management
  • Joseph and Marilyn Miller
  • Katy and Tim Demarais
  • Laurie and Mark Krcmaric
  • Lincoln Plumbing & Drain Cleaning
  • Michael and Vanessa Stanley